A Call for the Watchmen to Pray

timepieceAs the world grows more dangerous by the day, the Lord has called us to recognize the signs of the times. He has also told us to be watchmen; we’re charged with warning our neighbors when the enemy is at the gates. As editor of Praying Citizen, I felt led to ask you to join me in regular prayer. So here is a suggestion–it’s not an original one, but it’s a good one–that we take one minute today and every day to pray specifically for own cities. While ISIS or another enemy imagines attacking my hometown or yours, we can meet that evil with our faith. We can ask God to do battle on our behalf and protect us like only He can.

I have set my phone’s alarm for a specific time: 1 p.m., and when the alarm sounds, I will stop whatever I’m doing and pray for Atlanta–my closest large city–and Chicago, my hometown. I’m going to pray something like this:

Father, I come to You in the mighty name of Jesus. You have given to each person the measure of faith to believe You to do amazing things on our behalf. Our country is in trouble and the enemies are everywhere–some even within our borders. Keep the evil from destroying our land. I am especially praying for Atlanta and Chicago. Spoil any secret plans to take them down and place a shield around them. Raise up the other believers in both cities to pray for their protection. Stop whatever wickedness the enemy has planned.

I pray also for those citizens who need salvation. Give them eyes to see the Lord Jesus, ears to hear a message of salvation, and a heart willing to repent and change.

Thank You for calling me Your child. Thank You for sending the Lord Jesus to die in my place and to forgive me of all my sins and iniquities. Fear cannot survive where Your perfect love reigns. I praise You and thank You for what You are going to do!

Ps. 27:5 – For in the time of trouble he shall hide me in his pavilion: in the secret of his tabernacle shall he hide me; he shall set me up upon a rock.

Thank you for joining me in this effort!

_________________________________________________________________

News Briefs

The National Institutes of Health, which is funded by tax dollars, is dropping its ban on funding for human/animal hybrid “chimera” research. However, a ban will still exist on primate/human combinations. The research up to this point has been described as “disappointing.” Pray that the research will continue to be disappointing!

The 2016 Olympic games have begun in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. The U. S. is currently leading the competition with 10 gold, nine silver, and nine bronze medals. Swimmer Michael Phelps has won additional events and now has 21 gold and 25 total Olympic medals. Pray for the safety of all of the competitors, coaches, and spectators.

Leave a Reply

