When being Smart Makes You Stupid

120px-Akademische_Feier_accadis_Bad_Homburg

I appreciate smart people! My husband is smart about a lot of things, including directions. In our 28 years of marriage, he has gotten lost all of three times. He’s an air traffic controller, so it’s no wonder. As for me, I get lost at the mall!

The Bible has a lot to say about what’s good–including understanding all mysteries and having all knowledge. It’s good to speak for God and have the kind of faith that would move a mountain.

There are also good and selfless acts, like feeding the poor, giving away all your stuff, and even giving your body to be burned (not common in the U.S., thank God).

But none of them is good enough if they’re done without love.

Love suffers long! It listens, and listens, and listens without losing its cool. Love is kind. It forgives every evil, even murder and deep hurts of the heart.

Love doesn’t want things from others. It looks to God to provide and is humble. Love doesn’t argue or complain or brag. It doesn’t become puffed up with its own accomplishments, call attention to itself, or have a “me first” attitude. Love is always dependent on God and secure in knowing that God takes care of His own.

God is love.

When I think about people who matter in my life, they’re the ones who let me just be. Although they may hope I’ll change for the better, they’re not trying to be the authors of my change. I don’t have to perform for them or be perfect. If I blow it, they’ll wait for me to come to my senses and apologize. And they aren’t hypocrites; they admit when they’re wrong. They laugh with me at my mistakes and they listen when I just need to talk. Together, we put love above our need to be right.

Life is not about your wit, smarts, discernment, spiritual understanding or generosity alone. Our lives will judged by how we love. God help us to make love our priority! Without it we are deaf, blind, dumb and stupid.

Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, and have not charity, I am become as sounding brass, or a tinkling cymbal. And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries, and all knowledge; and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, and have not charity, I am nothing. And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned, and have not charity, it profiteth me nothing.

Charity suffereth long, and is kind; charity envieth not; charity vaunteth not itself, is not puffed up, Doth not behave itself unseemly, seeketh not her own, is not easily provoked, thinketh no evil; Rejoiceth not in iniquity, but rejoiceth in the truth; Beareth all things, believeth all things, hopeth all things, endureth all things. 1 Cor. 13:1-8

And now abideth faith, hope, charity, these three; but the greatest of these is charity. 1 Cor. 13:13

Comments

  1. Reblogged this on amamasheart and commented:
    One of my favorite verses and my daily challenge is Romans 5:5b: May the love of God shine abroad in our heart through the power of the Holy Spirit.
    It is only the love that emanates through His power that changes us and others. All else is counterfeit.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

